There are several systems for assessing the environmental performance of buildings. These international systems form quality standards in the modern construction industry. The American rating system The Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design or LEED is widely known.

The green house building certification system LEED is internationally recognized, compliance with its standards is the third most important event for quality control of design and construction. LEED standards are specifically designed for the organization of the most suitable construction for the environment, in particular, they control the implementation of efficient energy and water use, reduce CO2 emissions, provide the most acceptable indoor climate, manage resources and monitor the impact of human activities on their condition.

The LEED system was developed in 1993. U.S. Green Building Council or USGBC (in translation into Russian - American Council for Green Buildings). This rating system is applicable to commercial and residential real estate (multi-apartment and out-of-town), it accompanies the entire construction cycle of the building, from initial design to operation.

It is very flexible, it stimulates a team of specialists working on the creation of an object, to think over the most effective in terms of spending model of building management and at the same time comfortable for its inhabitants internal environment.

Since the establishment of the rating system in the US LEED certificate has been awarded 11.5 thousand projects, in 30 countries around the world 99 km2 of built-up areas are being built according to this quality assessment system.

The peculiarity of the rating lies in the open process of reviewing the technical quality criteria proposed by the LEED developers, where the decision is taken collectively by more than 10 thousand experts consisting of USGBC.

The USGBC allows individuals to take an exam (there are several areas for which you can qualify), confirming knowledge of the requirements for green housekeeping and become an accredited professional (English Accredited Professional or AP).


LEED (The Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) is a rating certification system for so-called green buildings.

This system was developed in 1993 as a Green Building Standard measuring energy efficiency and environmental friendliness of projects and buildings. The LEED system was developed by the United States Green Building Council (USGBC) as a standard for the measurement of energy efficient, environmentally sound and sustainable buildings for the transition of the construction industry to the design, construction and operation of such buildings.

LEED USGBC is moving forward:


  • 30 000 Individual members
  • 18,000 company members
  • 160 470 accredited LEED professionals
  • 525 years (man-hours) spent on standard development projects in 117 countries for 2010
  • 7 100 000 000 sq. M. Meters of certified commercial space
  • 5 462 certified commercial properties
  • 5 988 certified private objects
  • 27 696 registered commercial properties
  • 24 939 registered private objects
  • Objects in climatic zones from -30 to +50 degrees Celsius 


The standard LEED v.3 released in 2009 consists of six sections:

  1. The adjacent territory,
  2. Efficiency of use of water resources,
  3. The energy and atmosphere of the building,
  4. Materials and resource base,
  5. Quality of indoor air,
  6. New strategies in the project and innovation.

Dozens of buildings that meet the criteria of the LEED standard are built in countries such as Brazil, China, Guatemala, India, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Spain, etc.

Experience of Canada

The Canada's Green Building Council (Canadian Green Building Council) adopted and adapted the American LEED program for use in Canada. The LEED Canada standard assesses the sites according to the criteria of the ecological condition of the land, the economical use of water and electricity, the impact on the pollution of the atmosphere, the resources used and the quality of building materials, the quality of the internal microclimate and innovative design.

The LEED Canada-NC standard for new buildings was first introduced in 2004, the LEED Canada-CI standard for commercial interiors was adopted in 2006, LEED Canada-EB standards for existing buildings and LEED Canada-SC for buildings prepared for finishing are in Development stage.

In April 2005 The government of Canada has passed a law according to which all federal office buildings should be designed and reconstructed in accordance with the LEED Canada Gold standard.

Experience of India

India has only three buildings that correspond to the highest assessment under the LEED-Platinum standard, but it can be proud of them, as there are very few buildings around the world that satisfy this level. It is quite difficult to obtain a LEED-Platinum quality certificate because of the specific requirements of the US-oriented standard.

In the autumn of 2007. The organization IGBC (the Indian Council for Green Buildings) adopted the LEED India standard, which differs significantly from the American standard. LEED India contains Indian building codes and standards, the requirements of which are used as criteria for assessing the ecological compatibility of buildings. The LEED India standard includes requirements for reducing greenhouse gas emissions and prefers projects that reduce water consumption by 40 percent or more, using drinking water in air conditioning systems is reduced by 75 percent or 100 percent.